My First Year as a Developer

I graduated last year as a software engineer and started working ASAP. This year taught me a lot and not even the COVID stopped me.

Consuelo Sanna
5 min readFeb 4, 2021
Photo by Ehud Neuhaus on Unsplash

After taking some days with my family and celebrate that important scholarly achievement, I immediately started searching for a job. I wanted something that I could enjoy and close to home initially, so I decided to make a list of all the companies nearby and used their website “work with us” section or to sent cold emails to introduce myself. It actually worked pretty well, I was honest and I think most of the recruiter appreciated that.

I knew I was a new grad and that the best thing I could offer was goodwill and a huge desire to learn and prove myself.

During each interview I was really nervous, but they all went pretty well and after a week I already had a desk and a laptop in a startup. It was not as I expected, I was basically working on my own and it was not my ideal first job… after a few weeks, I decided to go to a career day hosted by my University and there I met the man whom I know call my boss.

I had to pass some HR easy interview and then a more technical one, where I might admit, I did not really shine.. but they decided to offer me an internship and I immediately took it because I had…

--

--

Consuelo Sanna

I am an Italian Software Engineer passionate about technologies and new challenges. I still have a lot to learn and I’ll try to share experiences and solutions